Little Kenial Mountain on Peak Communism, Peak Ismoil Somoni

The Snow Leopard Order was a Soviet award for outstanding mountaineers who had conquered all five seven-thousand-metre peaks located on the territory of the former USSR. The mountaineering award is still recognized and continued today. In february the first three mountaineers have succeeded in climbing the last of all five 7000 m peaks in winter. And the kenial Misha is one of them. Mikhail Danichkin from is a krigisian mountain guide and organizes all kenial children’s aid projects on site. Now he is also winter snow leopard, and the kenial mountain was on Peak Ismoil Somoni (7495 m), the former “Peak Communism”. Congrtatulations!

Three of the snow leopard peaks are in the Pamir Mountains:
Peak Ismoil Somoni (7495 m, formerly known as “Communism of Spades”)
the Peak Korschenewskaja (7105 m), both in Tajikistan, and
the Peak Lenin (7134 m) at the Kyrgyz-Tajik border.

Two peaks are located in Tian Shan:
the Jengi Chokusu (7439 m, formerly “Peak Pobedy”) at the Kyrgyz-Chinese border and
the Khan Tengri (7010 m) on the Kyrgyz-Kazakh border.